User roles and permissions

Note: The old roles system of User / Power user is now deprecated. Existing accounts have been automatically updated with the new roles. By default, these replicate your existing setup.

Available user roles

New user roles

Deprecated user roles

User role

Permission

User (Deprecated)

Power user (Deprecated)

Explore user

Can access the portfolio analytics module

✅

✅

Extract user

Can access the data extraction module

✅

✅

Documents manager all

Can edit all document types on the documents screens

✅

✅

Metrics validator all

Can validate (edit) metrics for all document types

✅

✅

Document reviewer all

Can review the validation of all document types

✅

✅

Document approver all

Can commit (extract) metrics for all document types

✅

✅

Reference data viewer

Can access the reference data section

✅

✅

Audit screen viewer

Can access the audit section

✅

✅

Operational monitoring viewer

Can view the System Events and Alerts tabs within ""My Organisation""

✅

✅

Filters manager

Can access the filters section

❌

✅

Monitor screen viewer

Can access the data monitor section

❌

✅

Multi-tenant access

Can access other specified tenants

❌

✅

Multi-tenant manager

Can assign users to access other tenants

❌

✅

My organization manager

Can create and manage users

❌

✅

Workflow dashboard viewer

Can access the main dashboard section

❌

✅

Connections manager

Can manage external connections

❌

❌

‍

Using access groups to control workflows

You can use "access groups" to organize these roles to suit your workflow:

  1. Create a new access group, giving it a meaningful name;

  2. Select from the available roles to grant this access group the desired permissions. An access group must have at least one role assigned to it, but you can add as many roles as needed.

  3. You can now easily add or remove individual users to the user groups you defined.

Note: Access groups can be created and managed by anyone with the role of “My organization manager”.​

‍

Example

Team A wants to restrict which users can review validated documents and commit data. To reflect this workflow, the administrator creates two access groups:

The first one, 'Document validator group' will allow group members to open and validate documents, but not approve and commit data:


The second access group, 'Documents reviewer group', gets assigned the roles above, and additionally 'Document approver' and 'Document reviewer'; this means that members of this group will also be able to operate as document reviewer and will be able to commit data.


It is now easy to assign and re-assign individual users to those groups as needed.

‍